March 15, 2010 Rotogram


Art Cosby, director of Mississippi State University’s Social Science Research Center speaks today.


Bill Nettles will present “April 25, 1945—The Day the Wheels Came Off the Nazi War Machine.”


Invocation and Pledge: Tommy Tomlinson
Attendance: There were 57 members (14 exempt) present and 134 (34 exempt, 12 honorary) absent.
Guests and visitors: Fifty spouses and other guests rounded out our banquet attendance. Guests of the Club were our Youth Exchange Students Francesca Scaravelli and Kasper Eriksen, Greg Byrne, spouse of our community service award winner, and widows of several past presidents.
President Martha presented Margaret Allen her late husband’s Rotary member badge. Tip served as Club president in 1983-84.


Inspired by the current Rotary International theme, our annual banquet recognized leaders whose hands build up our community.
President Martha set the tone saying, “When Rotary is in your hands, good things happen.”
Among those good things is the Club’s successful $18,000 fund raising for water and tuition guarantee projects.
[Editor’s note: Dave Boles was recognized with the President’s Award for stepping in to the secretary’s job, but he slipped out without a picture.]

EMCC TUITION GUARANTEE—Rick Young, East Mississippi Community College president, accepts the Club’s donation to the school’s tuition guarantee program. Our commitment helps any qualified Oktibbeha County high school graduate to attend EMCC tuition-free for up to four semesters. President Martha is joined by Larry Mullins, representing the Rotary Classic Rodeo committee, and Bill Ford, chair of the First Annual Rotary Charity Golf Classic.

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR—Lynne Richardson, board member, is honored for encouraging new initiatives, most especially the new Interact Club.

ROTARIAN OF THE YEAR—Peggy Buckley, Membership Development chair, is congratulated by President Martha for her long-time leadership in club growth and sustaining membership.

COMMUNITY SERVICE—Regina Byrne is recognized by President Martha for her energetic efforts in local philanthropy and community development. Despite a relatively short tenure, she has made a significant mark on Starkville.

SERVICE ABOVE SELF —Melanie Mitchell, Nancy Hargrove and Shelton Jones are congratulated by President-elect Tommy Tomlinson who presented Club service awards. Mitchell is leading local planning for the 2011 Rotary International meeting in New Orleans. Hargrove has dedicated much time to our international exchange programs. Jones has spearheaded this year’s successful fund-raising for the District 6820 Kenyan water project.

Previous post:

Next post: